Loading

Nicaragua

Where do you want to go?

Come with us on an adventure trip! Look at our comments or search for an item...

2017-02-27-photo-00002132

Nicaragua

Nicaragua

Ohh Nicaragua, you are sooo beautiful. We totally fell in love. The country is still not so touristy, and that’s what makes it very interesting for us. The country has an amazing nice landscape and up till now there is no mass tourism. The beaches are still pure nature and absolutely not busy, you can always find a great place at the beach. The restaurants offer excellent food and cheap prices. The country is a real surfer paradise and we are sure that more and more people will be coming every year, because the coast area in Nicaragua is soo great for surfers.

Managua, the capital but it doesn’t seem like it

Managua is a little bit special… The streets are not very busy, except a couple of coaches. Nobody is honking and absolutely no chaos. It is quiet .. very quiet … For us it was a little bit weird, because we were expecting a quite busy city. It felt like 50 degrees during the midday heat, as we were checking out the city with our lovely guide Miguel.

dsc_4309-2

hall

On the main square you can admire a church, but unfortunately the church can collapse soon. That is because of a former earthquake and the government is not restoring the church. It wasn’t allowed to enter it. On the other side of the main square is the town hall. A very big building but also not so spectacular. At the promenade of the street you can find a lot of restaurants and snack bars. Especially in the evening these places are full of local people.

dsc_4330

To brighten up the streets, the city came up with a great idea. They installed big street lights in the shape of trees which light up the city in all different colors. We think that’s very positive for the city and makes it very unique.

The old Coyotepe Fortress

Outside of the city there is a nice old fortress which was used as a prison, but now it is open for tourists to visit. You can rent a local guide there and he explains everything about the horrible history of the prison, unfortunately it is not so long ago, really cruel.

The prison has a two-floor deep basement and it is more than horrible how people had to live there at this time. Sometimes 50-80 people had to stay in one room. Honestly there is nothing to add…

The Masaya Volcano

We were excited like little kids. Because we have never seen an active volcano before and of course the volcano was spitting lava!!!!

2017-02-23-photo-00002117

The Masaya Volcano belongs to the most active volcanos in Nicaragua. In former times they threw people or prisoners in the crater to bring a ,,sacrifice ,,

26972552210_e5f11b817d_k

Of course, nowadays they don’t throw people in the crater anymore and you can admire the beautiful natural spectacle. But indeed a lot of people had the idea to visit the volcano, so you need a little bit time, but it is more than worth it.

Actually we don’t like places which are very busy, but sometimes it is worth it. The closer we came the more we smelled smoke and sulfur and small eruptions all around us. It was really an indescribable feeling.

Granada City

The most famous picture of the city is of course the,, Cathedral de Nuestra Señora de la Asuncion ,,. It is the highest point of the city and you can see it from everywhere. The city center is the ,,Central Park,, of Granada and is surrounded by very nice colonial houses.

dsc_4566-3

dsc_4578-3

To get a panorama view, we climbed up the bell tower of an incredible nice old church. From the top you have a really awesome view..

dsc_4574-3

Granada offers a great nightlife, you can find a lot of live bands on the streets, which brings a unique atmosphere. Especially in the evening it is so nice to walk through the city. When everything is lit up, you can really enjoy the flair of so many different restaurants and bars.

Granada

Fruit-bar Granada

barney_nica

Barney 🙂

One secret tip from us: outside of Granada you can find a thousand years old crater with a lake inside, where you can be absolutely alone. The water is really warm and contains a lot of minerals and is very healthy for your skin. This place is an absolutely insider tip. And this place is even free of charge.

dsc_4606-2

Mineral healthy crater

San Juan del Sur

The party city is located directly at the pacific coast. It is really awesome to go from one bar to another. We could hear a lot of weird voices in the pubs, because karaoke is very famous, especially Shakira. It is really fun to see all the people partying.

2017-02-27-photo-00002132

This city was fascinating us so much that we decided to stay one night longer. Before sunset we had to check the small city from the top. San Juan has a small Jesus statue located on a nice hill with an awesome overall view. The view is really incredible especially at sunset.

dsc_4742

Best HotSpot for a nice view

Best view

Best view

Our first Surf lesson

Miguel (guide ) had a great surprise for us, as he was driving us directly to the beach on the next morning. He gave us our first surfing lesson ever.

Beach San Juan del Sur

Beach San Juan del Sur

Before we started our lesson, Miguel was telling us how important it is to wear a surfer suit and to cover your face with sun blocker.

After we put on all our stuff we started our ,,dry practice ,,. It´s not so easy for beginners to control your body.

dsc_4706-2

After a couple of balance problems, we could finally ride the waves on our own. Miguel was the greatest teacher and you could tell how much fun he had teaching us how to surf. Really awesome and we were so proud of ourselves.

2017-02-27-photo-00002135

The beaches around San Juan del Sur are really fucking awesome. A real paradise, absolutely not busy and you can surf everywhere without disturbing others because there is so much space for everyone.

After this intense surf lesson we went out to a great Italian restaurant and enjoyed the rest of the night with a Gin-Tonic at the karaoke bar.

Ometepe Island

volcano-2259249_1280

Selfie from the ferry ;-)

Selfie from the ferry 😉

Ometepe Island was one of our huge highlights on our journey through Nicaragua. With a small ferry and a couple of other tourists we drove to the island and spent 2 nights there. We had a great bungalow directly at the lake.

After a short refreshment and a snack we were renting a cross bike to drive over the island. The island is really beautiful. We drove around two vulcanos, but there are not active anymore. We really love this little island.

2017-03-01-photo-00002145

dsc_4900

Our Conclusion

Nicaragua is safety 

We had a fantastic time in Nicaragua and will be coming back for sure to see the rest of the country. Nicaragua is especially nice for people that don’t like mass tourism. The country is very safe and very cheap and sooo beautiful. We felt safe all the time and Miguel was joining and helping us every day and made our journey through Nicaragua unforgettable! Thank you so much for everything, Miguel!

Our travel guide tip:

The Perfect Choice: Lonely Planet Nicaragua, the most comprehensive guide to Nicaragua, is perfect for both exploring top sights and taking roads less traveled.

Did you like our report? Or have you been to Nicaragua before? We would be happy to share our post on the social networks or leave a comment 🙂


Infobox

1000px-flag_of_nicaragua-svg

Visa:

Visa free

Currency:

Nicaraguan Cordoba Oro

The current course you can look up at Oanda

Language:

Spanish

Local Time:

You can read the local times here 

High Season:

The best time for Nicaragua here 

Health:

Malaria:
You should looking for a doctor and tell him, which country you visit in the next time.
Malariaprophylaxe is very expensive but the health insurance will pay for it.

Yellow fever:
Yellow fewer is very important. Even this will be paid by the health insurance.
Please tell them the situation.
Vaccination card must be available for the entry

Hepatitis:
Check your vaccination card from the doctor. The health insurance will pay for that.

Safety

You can find all entry requirements at the listed embassies

Embassy:

For US Embassy: link
For UK Embassy: link 
For AUS Embassy: link

Information about the guide

2017-02-23-photo-00002111

Name:

Miguel Josue

Contact:

e-mail: info@panorama-tr.org
phone: +505 2225 2370

Website:

http://panorama-tr.org

About Miguel

Miguel became a friend for us. He showed us the best places in Nicaragua. He even accompanied us in the evening for dinner. He is super reliable and always found great accommodations for the night.
Miguel has a big knowledge and is proud of his country.
Especially for people who like to surf, Miguel is absolutely the best!

Thank you Miguel for the unforgettable time in Nicaragua!

Saskia and Basti

Saskia

Saskia

We are Saskia and Bastian (25 and 30), and we are the founder of Madlovelyworld. 3 years ago, the traveling have watched us and since this time, we travel a lot around the globe, to get know the different cultures and to met lot of funny nice and funny people. Now we have so much to tell about the different places in world, that we decided to start blogging. We are very happy that you are visiting our blog and joining on our journeys. Most of the time we travel with local guides and would love to recommend to you, we think it is a very good way to travel with local people and support them.

LEAVE A COMMENT

Loading

Nicaragua

Wohin soll es gehen?

Komme mit uns auf Entdeckungsreise! Schau Dich in den Beiträgen um oder Suche nach einem Begriff.

2017-02-27-photo-00002132

Nicaragua

Nicaragua Reisebericht
Hach Nicaragua, was bist du schön… Wir haben uns verliebt! Dieses Land ist touristisch noch wenig fortgeschritten und ist genau das was es ausmacht. Das Land hat eine unglaublich schöne Naturlandschaft und ist von dem ganzen Massentourismus “noch” verschont gelblieben. Die Strände sind noch sehr naturbelassen und keiner muss sich dicht an dicht am Strand einen Platz suchen um in der Sonne zu baden. Die Restaurants sind nie überfüllt aber dafür sehr lecker und günstig. Und mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit wird sich das Land zu einem Mekka für Surfer entwickeln da sich die Küstenabschnitte besonders dafür eignen.

Managua, eine Hauptstadt die sich nicht wie eine Hauptstadt anfühlt….

 

Managua ist sehr speziell…. Wenig befahrene Straßen, ein paar Pferdekutschen. Kein Gehupe und kein Chaos. Es ist ruhig.. ganz ruhig… Ganz schön ungewohnt dafür, dass wir eine quirlige Hauptstadt erwartet hätten. Gut für uns um die Stadt zu Besichtigen. Bei “gefühlten” 50 grad erkundeten wir in der Mittagshitze mit unserem lieben Guide Miguel die City.

 

dsc_4309-2

hall

 

Auf dem Hauptplatz gibt es eine Kirche zu bestaunen die Einsturzgefährdet ist. Auf Grund  eines früheren Erdbebens, wird dieses Gebäude zwar gestützt aber noch nicht restauriert. Also heißt es „betreten verboten“. Auf der anderen Seite des Hauptplatzes befindet sich das Rathaus. Ein großes Gebäude aber auch weniger spektakulär. An der Promenade der Stadt sind viele kleine Restaurants und Snackbars zu finden. Gerade am Abend halten sich viele Einheimische hier auf.

 

dsc_4330

 

Damit die Stadt nicht ganz so triste wirkt, haben die sich etwas ganz besonderes ausgedacht. An jeder Straßenlaterne wurden kunterbunte Bäume befestigt, die in der Dunkelheit in verschiedenen Farben leuchten. So wirkt die Stadt etwas “aufgepeppt”

Die alte Coyotepe Festung

Außerhalb der Stadt befindet sich eine alte Festung die zuletzt als ein riesiges Gefängnis genutzt wurde und nun für Touristen geöffnet ist.

Hier kann man sich einen Führer mieten der alles aus der Vergangenheit erklärt wie die Gefangenden früher eingesperrt wurden. Was noch garnicht so lange her ist.

Erschreckend…. !

Das Gefängnis ist in 2 Stockwerken unterkellert und es ist furchtbar wie die Menschen hier untergebracht wurden. Teilweise mit 50 – 80 Menschen in einem Raum und kein Fenster. Mehr muss man nicht dazu erläutern…

Masaya Vulkan

Wir waren aufgeregt wie kleine Kinder. Denn wir haben noch nie einen aktiven Vulkan besichtigt der Lava spuckt.

 

2017-02-23-photo-00002117

 

Der Masaya Vulkan gehört zu den aktivsten Vulkanen in Nicaragua. Früher wurden die Menschen “geopfert”  und die Gefangenen aus dem Gefängnis wurden teilweise hier in dem Krater “entsorgt”.

 

26972552210_e5f11b817d_k

 

Heute werden zum Glück keine Menschen mehr in dem Krater entsorgt und man kann sich dieses Naturschauspiel von ganz nah anschauen. Allerings kommen mehrere Menschen auf die Idee gerade bei Abenddämmerung den Vulkan zu Bestauenen. Man muss Zeit mitbringen. Aber die Zeit lohnt sich.

Wir stehen leider überhaupt nicht auf so einen Massenandrang aber manchmal lässt es sich nicht vermeiden. Je mehr man sich nähert desto mehr kommt einem Rauch und Schwefelgeruch entgegen und es bilden sich in Abständen kleine Explosionen. Gänsehaut pur…!

Granada Stadt

Das wohl bekannteste Bild der Stadt ist die “Catedral de Nuestra Señora de la Asunción“ und ragt aus der ganzen Stadt heraus. Der “Central Park”  bildet das Zentrum Granadas das von schönen alten Kolonialhäusern umrahmt wird.

Catedral de Nuestra Señora de la Asunción“

 

Granada

 

Damit wir eine Übersicht über die schöne Stadt haben, sind wir auf einen Glockenturm einer alten Kirche geklettert. Von hier oben aus hatten wir die beste Panoramaaussicht!

 

dsc_4574-3

 

Ansonsten ist die Stadt sehr nachtaktiv und zahlreiche Musikgruppen versammeln sich auf den Straßen und sorgen für ordentlich Stimmung. Am Abend ist es besonders schön wenn alles schön beleuchtet ist und man durch die Straßen entlang der vielen netten Restaurants flaniert.

 

Fruit-Bar in Granada City

Fruit-Bar in Granada City

barney_nica

Und Barney ist dabei 🙂

Unser Geheimtipp

Um euch einen kleinen Geheimtipp zu geben, außerhalb der Stadt befindet sich ein Jahrtausend alter Vulkankrater den man ganz für sich alleine hat. Das Wasser ist warm und sehr mineralhaltig und sehr gesund für die Haut. Dieser Platz ist ein absoluter Geheimtipp und nicht jeder Tourist verirrt sich dorthin. Dieser Ort ist übrigens auch “noch” kostenlos.

Der stille mineralhaltige Krater außerhalb von Granada

 

San Juan del Sur

Der bekannteste Partyort Nicaraguas und liegt direkt am Pazifik!

Hier kann man sich Abends in Ruhe von Bar zu Bar treiben lassen. Aus einigen Lokalen dröhnen schräge Stimmen heraus, die versuchen Shakira nachzueifern. Es macht Spaß die Menschen beim feiern zu beobachten 😀

 

Dieser Ort hat uns fasziniert und wir sind sogar eine Nacht länger geblieben obwohl es eigentlich nicht geplant war. Noch bevor die Sonnne unterging, mussten wir uns noch ein Bild von der kleinen Stadt von oben machen. In San Juan del Sur hat man den besten Überblick auf die Jesus Statue die direkt auf einem Hügel liegt. Der Blick ist einfach umwerfend bei Sonnenuntergang, wenn die Promenade in der Sonne farbenfroh glitzert.

 

dsc_4742

 

San Juan del Sur

Live ist die Aussicht noch 1000 x schöner über San Juan del Sur

Unsere erste Surfstunde

Miguel (unser Guide) hatte für uns eine Überraschung parat und er fuhr mit uns direkt am nächsten Morgen zum Strand. Denn er ist leidenschaftlicher Surfer und gibt sogar Unterricht. Wuuuhuuuu

Und die Strände hier in San Juan del Sur sind der absolute Hammer. Wenig Touristen und man kann soviel surfen wie man möchte ohne dass man die Angst haben muss jemandem in die Quere zu kommen.

dsc_4696

 

Doch bevor wir mit den Stunden richtig loslegen konnten, ist es ganz wichtig einen Surferanzug zu tragen und man sollte das Gesicht dick mit Sonnencreme eincremen. 

 

dsc_4706-2

 

Miguel machte es uns vor und trug die Sonnencreme so doll auf, dass er uns an einen Geist erinnerte 😀 . Nein Spaß, es ist sehr wichtig und nicht zu unterschätzen.

Nachdem wir uns eingecremt haben und unsere Ausrüstung parat hatten, ging es auch gleich los mit den Trockenübungen. Als Anfänger ist es überhaupt nicht leicht die ganze Motorik am Anfang zu beherrschen.

 

2017-02-27-photo-00002135

 

Nach einigen Gleichgewichtsproblemen hatten wir es endlich drauf und wir konnten zum Schluss selbstständig auf kleinen Wellen surfen. Miguel ist einfach der beste Surflehrer und man merkt richtig wie viel Spaß und Freude er an der Sache hat um anderen das Surfen beizubringen. Einfach klasse unser Guide und wir sind mächtig stolz dass wir das gemeistert haben.

Um uns nach der anstrengenden Sporteinheit zu Stärken gingen wir Abends noch zu einem leckeren Italiener und anschließend auf ein Gin Tonic in eine Karaokebar.

Ometepe Island

volcano-2259249_1280

Selfie time

 

Ometepe Island war eines unserer Highlights in Nicaragua. Mit einer Fähre fuhren wir mit ein paar anderen Touristen auf die Insel rüber und übernachteten für 2 Tage in einem  Bungalow direkt am Süßwassersee. 

 

island-ometepe

 

dsc_4887

 

Nach einem kleinen Snack mieteten wir uns ein Crossbike und erkundeten die Insel. Wir umrundeten 2 Vulkane die schon seit hunderten von Jahren nicht mehr aktiv sind. Diese grüne Landschaft, die die beiden herausragenden Vulkane umsäumen geben ein außergewöhnlich schönes Bild wieder.

 

2017-03-01-photo-00002145

 

Ometepe Island

Auf Ometepe sollte man sich definitiv ein Crossbike oder Quad mieten

Unser Fazit

Nicaragua ist ein sicheres Reiseland!

Wir hatten eine unglaublich tolle Zeit in Nicaragua und wir werden definitiv wieder kommen und die andere Seite des Landes bereisen. Nicaragua ist für Reisende besonders geeignet die nicht auf Massentourismus stehen und es etwas individueller mögen. Das Land ist günstig und sicher zu gleich. Wir haben uns nicht eine Sekunde unwohl gefühlt. 

Nicaragua, wir kommen wieder!

Reiseführer Tipp:

Wer Nicaragua individuell bereisen und entdecken möchte, findet in diesem aktuellen Reiseführer zahlreiche Anregungen und alle wichtigen Informationen – zur Vorbereitung und unterwegs.

 

 

 

 

 

Hat euch dieser Bericht gefallen? Oder wart ihr selbst schonmal in Nicaragua? Wenn ja würden wir uns freuen unseren Beitrag auf den Sozialen Netzwerken zu teilen oder ein Kommentar zu hinterlassen 🙂

 


 

Infobox

1000px-flag_of_nicaragua-svg

 

Visum:

Kein Visum erforderlich

Währung:

Nicaraguanischer Córdoba

Den aktuellen Kurs könnt ihr bei Oanda nachschlagen

Sprache:

Spanisch

Zeitverschiebung:

Dies könnt ihr hier die Zeitverschiebungen nachlesen

Reisezeit:

Die beste Reisezeit für Nicaragua hier

Gesundheit:

Der Impfpass sollte auf jedenfall von einem Arzt kontrolliert werden und ggf. Auffrischungen wie Tetanus, Gelbfieber und Hepatitis A,B,C durchgeführt werden.

Dies könnt ihr auf hier Reisemedizinischen Infoservice nachlesen.

Sicherheit:

Zur Zeit sind keine größeren Sicherheitsrisiken bekannt.

Aktuelle Reiseinformationen könnt ihr hier beim auswärtigen Amt nachlesen

Botschaft:

Embajada de la República Federal de Alemania

Apartado Postal 29

Managua

Nicaragua.


Informationen zum Guide

2017-02-23-photo-00002111 
 
 

Name:

Miguel Josue

Sprache:

Spanisch

Englisch

Kontakt:

E-Mail: info@panorama-tr.org

Tel: +505 2293.7536

Website:

Turismo Responsable Nicaragua

 

Über Miguel:

Miguel ist für uns ein Freund geworden. Er hat sich die ganze Reise (24h) um uns gekümmert und uns die schönsten Orte gezeigt. Abends scheute er sich nicht um mit uns Essen zu gehen oder auch mal eine kleine Bar aufzusuchen. Er ist sehr zuverlässig und hat die besten tips für eine gute Unterkunft.

Miguel hat eine menge Wissen über sein Land und er ist stolz ein Nicaraguar zu sein.

Und wer bock auf Surfen hat ist bei Miguel besonders gut aufgehoben und der beste Surflehrer den es gibt 🙂 

 

Danke Miguel für den schönen Aufenthalt.

 

Saskia & Basti

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saskia

Saskia

We are Saskia and Bastian (25 and 30), and we are the founder of Madlovelyworld. 3 years ago, the traveling have watched us and since this time, we travel a lot around the globe, to get know the different cultures and to met lot of funny nice and funny people. Now we have so much to tell about the different places in world, that we decided to start blogging. We are very happy that you are visiting our blog and joining on our journeys. Most of the time we travel with local guides and would love to recommend to you, we think it is a very good way to travel with local people and support them.

Kommentar schreiben